Upper School Honors Recognized in GSB 2021-22 Academic Awards

Upper School Honors Recognized in GSB 2021-22 Academic Awards

GSB Upper Schoolers gathered in the Performing Arts & Community Center Matthews Theater on Wednesday, April 27, 2022, to recognize the outstanding academic accomplishments of this year's freshmen, sophomore, and junior award recipients.

Please join us in congratulating this year’s awards winners, listed below:

Fine Arts:

2D Art and Design: Sara Rodriguez

Ceramics: Norah Tripp

Digital Media: Talia Licata

Woodworking: Caitlin Caffrey

Performing Arts:

Music: Alia Messina

Outstanding Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role: Isha Vemuri

Outstanding Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role: Alex Sepe

Outstanding Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role: Emma Ryan

Outstanding Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role: Robbie DeVergillo

Computer Science:

RIT Award: Stephanie Lu and Peter Horton

English Awards:

The American Studies Sophomore Research Paper Award: Melissa Rachofsky

The Edie Clark Prize for Creative Writing: Sophia Mariano

Henshaw Award: Luke Ruggiero


Junior Award: Travis Xue

Sophomore Award: Lex Webber


Junior Award: Katie Chen

Sophomore Award: Jeremiah Ng

History Awards:

Junior History Award: Elise Cantu

University of Rochester Award/Frederick Douglass and Susan B. Anthony Award: Philip Vayntrub

Sophomore History Award: Whitney Lapper

Richard Gilder History Prize: Anna Gnapp

World Language:

Junior French Award: Ally Ross

Sophomore French Award: Henry Smith

Junior Latin Award: Matthew Lardieri

Sophomore Latin Award: Barbara Caspersen

Junior Spanish Award: Oliver Rosenthal

Sophomore Spanish Award: Ainsley Kroon

College Book Awards:

Harvard Book Prize: Katie Chen

Johns Hopkins Book Award: Laksh Patel

Mt. Holyoke Book Award: Sophia Mariano

Princeton Book Award: Desirae Hemans

Smith College Book: Lauren Rossiter

U. of Chicago Book Award: Shaniya Riddle

Wellesley College Book Award: Paige Brucker

Junior Awards:

Mark Mathabane Humanitarian Award: Jack Ference

John Atthowe Memorial Prize: Joe Howard

C. Elliot Knoke Prize: Lauren Rossiter

Margaret D. Jefferson Cup: Karlita Cadena

Thomas A. Conover Cup: Michael Dumiec

More GSB News

Learn more about what's happening at Gill St. Bernard's School, both in and outside of the classroom!

Read more


GSB welcomes applications from students who demonstrate academic potential and who are deemed likely to benefit from and contribute to the GSB community.

Learn more

Our Curriculum

Our community of learners value the contributions, perspectives, and talents that each student and faculty member bring to campus.

Learn more