Athletic Hall of Fame

The purpose of the GSB Athletic Hall of Fame is to honor former outstanding student athletes, coaches, athletic staff, teams, and others who have exhibited significant athletic success, have brought credit to the school through sportsmanship, elevated athletics at GSB through support and/or school spirit, and/or consistently set a positive example for others.



  • Former student-athlete has left school (in good standing) at least 10 years prior
  • Coach or Assistant Coach or other athletic staff members has left or retired (in good standing) at least 3 years prior
  • Special Contributors to the athletic program may be considered at any time after direct involvement in the athletic program is considered no longer a conflict, but no sooner than three years afterward (examples include parents, friends, non-letter winner students, etc.)
  • Posthumous candidates are eligible for nomination.
  • Please contact the alumni office if you would like to nominate a coach or special contributor.


Individuals or teams can be nominated by anyone by completing the online form (see below) or mailing the form to the following address:

Gill St. Bernard's School
Attn: Alumni Office / Athletic Hall of Fame
St. Bernard's Road
P.O. Box 604
Gladstone, NJ 07934-0604

Minimum requested fields, as indicated on nomination forms, will be required to activate a nominee. Nominees without the minimum fields completed will not be considered. All nominees should be positive examples of character and integrity in addition to having a sustained interest in the school.

Nominees will remain active for five years after submission, at which point he/she/team will be removed from consideration. Individuals may be nominated more than once.

Nomination Form

Member List

View the complete list of Athletic Hall of Fame members below.

Walter H. Lemley '26 Fletcher Breeden '29
Richard Kollmar '29 James C. Beam '30
Edward M. Hahn '31 Clinton Allen '36
Edwin Nicholls '36 Philip J. Sheridan '36
Lenonard Taft '36 Walter Mugford '37
Harry Gannon '37 Russell Bauer '38
George Fessenden '39 Roger Conant '39
Rodney Wagner '47 Gerry Pierre Scheide '48
Charles Forman '49 Oscar Kaus '49
Thomas Tingle '49 Richard Clarvoe '50
Anthony D'Apolito '50 Edward Dunning '51
Howard G. Oliver '51 William Pote '51
Kurt Schneider '53 Dan Decher '54
Richard Regan '55 Joanna Billings '56
John W. Gotsch '56 F. Carter Wood, III '56
Lane Billings Lewis '59 Nathalia Rocchi Scotes '59
Jeff Chandor '60 Joyce Creasey '60
John Dougherty '60 A. Murray Lindsley '60
Sandra Nagro Lobel '62 John V.G. Bowlus '63
Walter L. Niebling '63 Stephen Mattingly '64
Robert Ambrose '67 1967-68 Men's Basketball Team
Thomas Bonanne '68 Linda Johnson Keller '68
William E. Harner '68 John Saddler '68
Jill Coffin Paxton '69 Gerald Fox '70
Karl Hummel '70 Kevin Wentworth '70
Arlene Orr Amery ’70 Shirley Johnsen Avril ’70
Fred Engelberger '71 Robert C. Rogers '72
Carl Engelberger '73 Thomas M. Serra '73
Shelia Stockslager Lane '73 Keith Edwards '75
Eustace Fliedner '75 Daryle Wall '76
Garfield Scott '76 Suzanne Jensen Sweeney '76
Michael Morris '77 William Feingold '77
Marion D.Nittoli Parker '78 Leanne Parkinson Callahan '79
Thomas S. McKittrick '79 Hays Williams '79
Jeff Dangelmajer '80 Michael Malone, Coach & AD
Suzanne Brette Green '81 Greg Best '82
Michael Wendell '84 1991 Men's Soccer Team
Alexis Vander Sterre '95 1996-1998 Women’s Soccer Team
Erin Bayley Buraszeski ‘99 2002 Varsity Cross Country Team
Bobby Papazian ’05 Lamont Stapleton ’06
Jim Behot '07 Lauren Calone '00
Michael Chimes, Coach